Topeka, Kan. – Washburn University will be honoring the students ranked in the top ten percent from ten high schools in the Topeka area tomorrow night.  The students will be recognized as Shawnee County Honor Scholars in a recognition ceremony at White Concert Hall on the Washburn campus.

       “Each of these students has excelled in their high school career and we wanted to showcase the outstanding scholars we have here in Topeka,” said Dr. Jerry Farley, president of Washburn University.  “We want these young people to understand that Topeka appreciates them and encourage them to continue to make Topeka their home during and after college.

       “Topeka is on the move and we must attract and keep talented young people in Shawnee County to continue our progress,” he said.

       Each of the students will be recognized individually by their high school principal as they walk across the stage to receive a special academic achievement medal from President Farley.  The medal was designed and cast specifically for this ceremony.

       “We urge students to wear this medal proudly as they attend their individual high school graduations,” said Dr. Richard Liedtke, executive director of enrollment management at Washburn.

       Liedtke said that – based on their academic achievement – each of the students being recognized will receive an academic scholarship at Washburn should they choose to attend.

       “These are the most accomplished students academically in Topeka, and we hope they will choose to attend Washburn and take advantage of our small classes and individual attention.  But, most of all, we hope that all of them will decide to make Topeka their home after college and continue to help make Topeka a great community,” he said.


For further information, contact:
Patrick M. Early, APR
Director of Public Relations
Telephone: (785) 670-1711
Cell: (717) 385-1119

back to top button