Topeka, Kan. –The Washburn University chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta welcomed 40 new members April 19, 2022 in an induction ceremony. Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society distinguishing first-year academic success. New members were awarded a membership pin and certificate to commemorate their accomplishments.

Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society Induction 2022

     “Navigating a global pandemic for the last few years has been incredibly difficult for everyone,” said James Barraclough, director of undergraduate initiatives for Washburn University and Alpha Lambda Delta advisor. “These students have demonstrated the ability to remain focused academically, earning fantastic grades to start their college career and they are all to be commended for their outstanding efforts.

     These students maintained a 3.5 GPA or higher during the first semester of their freshman year at Washburn despite the uncertainty that came with the pandemic.

     “I am excited that we are able to celebrate their early academic success and I look forward to seeing how each of them continue to live Washburn University’s motto, non nobis solum,” Barraclough said.

     These students are now a part of a society that encourages academic achievement, leadership skills, community service and helps students develop meaningful goals for their roles in society.


Editor’s Note:

Washburn Students Who Joined

  • David Albertson
  • Jamie Alden
  • Kylie Alexander
  • Cameron Billquist
  • Bailey Bonagurio
  • George Burdick
  • Madeline Cregan
  • Caden Davis
  • Mariet Delgado
  • Ryan Durst
  • Wesley Ekstrand
  • Andrea Esquivel
  • Makayla Geil
  • Evie Gentry
  • Cassandra Gutierrez
  • Natalie Haberstroh
  • Blanca Jasso Mejia
  • Tessa Jeffery
  • Alissa Johnson
  • Emilee Jordan
  • Emily Keck
  • Leyna Kern
  • Rocelyn Miller
  • Emma Nelson
  • Citlaly Olguin-Marquez
  • Laurel Padilla
  • Zayreli Reyes
  • Lilly Riddell
  • Taylor Romanchek
  • Patrick Sandquist
  • Paige Sims
  • Ben Steinkuehler
  • Max Taylor
  • Emma Teply
  • Mashay Vaughn
  • Sierra Vigneron
  • Mikyna Voss
  • Madison Whitham
  • Emma Williams
  • Bella Wood


For further information, contact:
Joy Bailes
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Telephone: (785) 670-2153
Cell: (785) 230-1648

back to top button