Topeka, KS – Kansas Fiction Writers with books published in the past three years (2020/21/22) are eligible to win the $1,000 Hefner Heitz Kansas Book Award in Fiction.  The annual award, rotating between poetry, fiction and nonfiction is sponsored by the Thomas Fox Averill Kansas Studies Collection at Washburn University in Topeka and the Friends of Mabee Library. There is no fee to enter.

      This year's judge will be Robert Stewart, long-time editor of New Letters quarterly magazine, "New Letters on the Air" and BkMk Press at the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

       Deadline for submission is April 15, 2023.  For complete guidelines, please visit:

      The 2022 Hefner Heitz Kansas Book Award in Poetry went to Michael Kleber-Diggs for his collection “Worldly Things.” The 2021 Award in Nonfiction went to Rebekah Taussig for her memoir “Sitting Pretty.”

      The Thomas Fox Averill Kansas Studies Collection—sponsor of the competition—is an eclectic, inclusive set of materials dedicated to the study of Kansas literature through the state’s folklore, history, geography, flora, fauna, social fabric and culture.


For further information, contact:
Patrick Early
Director of University Relations
Telephone: 785-670-1711
Cell: 717-385-1119


back to top button