Topeka, Kan. – The Shawnee County Honors Scholars program recognizes the outstanding efforts of the top 10 percent of students at each of the high schools in Shawnee County. These students and their families are invited to attend a ceremony at 7 p.m. Monday, Oct. 24 in White Concert Hall on the Washburn University campus.

Oct. 24, 7 p.m. Ceremony, Program of Events

- Welcome: Dr. Alan Bearman, interim director of enrollment management, dean for the Center for Student Success and Retention and history professor at Washburn University
- Opening Remarks: Marshall Meek, interim president of Washburn University
- Introduction of the Scholars – The principals from each Shawnee County high school will introduce their students in attendance; Marshall Meek and Dr. Laura Stephenson, interim vice president of academic affairs for Washburn University, will hand students their medal and certificate.

List of students recognized as Shawnee County Honors Scholars 2022

            Washburn University began the Shawnee County Honors Scholars program in 2021.

             “The Washburn community is committed to excellence and we recognize excellence in others,” said Marshall Meek, interim president of Washburn University. “There are so many talented students in our area who deserve to be recognized.

            “The Shawnee County Honors Scholars program further illustrates Washburn’s partnership with Topeka and Shawnee County.”         


      Founded in 1865, Washburn University is a public institution with more than 6,000 students involved in more than 200 academic programs. Washburn’s programs lead to certification, associate, bachelor, master's degree or doctor of nursing practice and juris doctor degrees.  The programs are offered through Washburn’s six primary academic units – the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Applied Studies, the School of Business, the School of Nursing, the School of Law and the Washburn Institute of Technology (Washburn Tech)

       All programs are offered on either the 160-acre residential campus in the heart of Topeka, Kan., at Washburn Tech’s campus on Topeka’s west side or in the east Topeka facility. Washburn University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association and many of the individual programs have additional accreditations.

      Washburn is ranked best public regional university in Kansas and 14th best public regional university by U.S. News and World Report 2022-2023.


For further information, contact:
Joy Bailes
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Telephone: (785) 670-2153
Cell: (785) 230-1648
back to top button