Topeka, Kan. - This past weekend, Nov. 5-6, the Washburn University debate team traveled to Normal, Ill. to compete in the “Redbird Classic” Lincoln Douglas debate tournament hosted by Illinois State University. The Washburn debate team captured the tournament championship in the overall Squad Sweepstakes. Western Kentucky University placed second and Florida State University rounded out the top three.

      This tournament, coordinated by Washburn University debate alumna and Illinois State University debate director Shanna Carlson, is considered “fall nationals” for Lincoln Douglas debaters due to the number of schools that compete from across the country.


Tournament results:

- Cade Blenden (sophomore) was semifinalist (final four) in varsity competition, with Blenden earning the fifth overall best speaker of the tournament.
- Braxton Kindel (freshman) was a semifinalist in junior varsity (JV) competition.
- Jenna Gorton (senior) and Dan Archer (junior) were both varsity quarterfinalists (elite 8), with Gorton earning the fourth overall best speaker position.
- Hunter Squires (sophomore) and Andrew Rea (junior) both made it to the octafinals (sweet 16) in varsity competition.


     Washburn debaters who competed were: Dan Archer (junior), Jacob Bailes (sophomore), Cade Belden (sophomore), Jenna Gorton (senior), Braxton Kindel (freshman), Logan Michael (freshman), Andrew Rea (junior), Carlos Cedillo-Silva (senior) and Hunter Squires (sophomore). Bailes, Cedillo-Silva and Michael each narrowly missed elimination rounds in varsity competition.

     Other universities that participated in this tournament were the California State University at Fullerton, Central Michigan University, Illinois College, Illinois State University, John Carroll University, Lafayette College, Lewis & Clark College, Missouri State University, Missouri Valley College, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, University of North Texas, University of Northern Iowa, Truman State University, Vanderbilt University and Western Kentucky University.

     Dr. Kevin O’Leary, director of debate and senior lecturer for communication studies for Washburn University, and Steve Doubledee, assistant director of debate and senior lecturer for communication studies for Washburn University, are the debate coaches for Washburn University.

     The Washburn University debate program focuses on Linclon-Douglas, or LD, debate format. LD is a debate format that follows the basic time schedule 6 - 3 - 7 - 3 - 4 - 6 - 3. Each debater gets thirteen minutes of total speaking time, and three minutes of question time. The rounds take approximately 45 minutes in total. Each debater receives four to five minutes of preparation time to use between speeches however they like. The NFA Lincoln Douglas competitive year runs from September to April.

- 30 - 

For further information, contact:
Joy Bailes
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Office: 785-670-2153
Cell: 785-230-1648


back to top button