Topeka, Kan. - This past weekend, Dec. 3-4, the Washburn University debate team competed at the “Fall Finale,” an online Lincoln-Douglas debate tournament, and won the Overall Squad Sweepstakes, besting Florida State University (second) and University of Nebraska-Lincoln (third). This tournament was co-hosted by Lafayette College and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

     In the varsity division Logan Michael (junior) finished as a Quarterfinalist (Elite 8), and Carlos Cedillo (senior) and Hunter Squires (sophomore) both finished as Octafinalists (Sweet 16). Jacob Bailes (sophomore) was recognized as the fourth overall best speaker in the varsity division.

      In the junior varsity (JV) division, Coby Brown (senior) won the novice division (champion).  Braxton Kindel (freshman) finished as a semifinalist (Final Four) and was recognized as the sixth best overall speaker in the JV division.

      “The Fall Finale wraps up the fall 2022 semester competition for Washburn debate, which started in September,” said Dr. Kevin O’Leary, director of debate and senior lecturer for communication studies for Washburn University.  “We’ll fire back up for the spring semester, wrapping up at the National Forensic Association Lincoln-Douglas Championships in April.”

      The other schools that competed in the Fall Finale included California State University, Fullerton, Central Michigan University, Illinois State University, John Carroll University, Lewis & Clark College, University of Northern Iowa, University of North Texas, Sacramento State University, Texas State University, Truman State University and University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

      The Washburn University debate program focuses on Lincoln-Douglas, or LD, debate format. LD follows the basic time schedule 6 - 3 - 7 - 3 - 4 - 6 - 3. Each debater gets 13 minutes of total speaking time, and three minutes of question time. The rounds take approximately 45 minutes in total. Each debater receives four to five minutes of preparation time to use between speeches however they like. The NFA Lincoln Douglas competitive year runs from September to April. O’Leary and Steve Doubledee, assistant director of debate and senior lecturer for communication studies for Washburn University, are the debate coaches for Washburn University.

 - 30 - 


For further information, contact:
Joy Bailes
Assistant Director of Public Relations
Office: 785-670-2153
Cell: 785-230-1648
back to top button